« Back to Dictionary Index


  • Overview: Bentley Motors Limited is a British manufacturer and marketer of luxury cars and SUVs. Founded by W.O. Bentley in 1919, the brand is known for its high-performance luxury vehicles. The 1919-1945 models are considered classic cars, while the 1946-1967 models are regarded as milestone cars.


  1. Founding and Early Years (1919-1931):
  • Founding: Walter Owen Bentley founded Bentley Motors Limited in 1919 in Cricklewood, North London.
  • First Model: The first car, the Bentley 3 Litre, was introduced in 1921. It was known for its durability and performance, winning the 24 Hours of Le Mans in 1924.
  • Racing Success: Bentley became famous for its success at Le Mans, winning the race five times between 1924 and 1930.
  1. Acquisition by Rolls-Royce (1931-1998):
  • Financial Troubles: Due to the Great Depression and financial difficulties, Bentley was acquired by Rolls-Royce in 1931.
  • Silent Sports Car Era: Under Rolls-Royce, Bentley cars were marketed as more sporting versions of Rolls-Royce vehicles, earning the nickname “silent sports cars.”
  • Post-War Models: The 1946-1967 models, such as the Mark VI, R-Type, and S-Type, became milestone cars due to their luxurious design and engineering advancements.
  1. Modern Era (1998-Present):
  • Volkswagen Group: In 1998, Bentley was sold to Volkswagen Group, which invested heavily in the brand, modernizing its production facilities and expanding its model range.
  • Continental GT: Introduced in 2003, the Continental GT marked a new era for Bentley with its blend of luxury, performance, and modern technology.
  • Expansion: Bentley expanded its lineup to include models such as the Flying Spur, Bentayga (SUV), and the Mulsanne.

Key Models:

  1. 1919-1945 Classic Cars:
  • Bentley 3 Litre (1921-1929): The first Bentley, renowned for its racing success.
  • Bentley 4½ Litre (1927-1931): Famous for the “Blower Bentley” variant with a supercharger.
  • Bentley Speed Six (1926-1930): A larger, more powerful version of the 6½ Litre model, known for winning Le Mans in 1929 and 1930.
  1. 1946-1967 Milestone Cars:
  • Bentley Mark VI (1946-1952): The first post-war Bentley, featuring a steel body.
  • Bentley R-Type (1952-1955): An evolution of the Mark VI, with a more powerful engine and improved design.
  • Bentley S-Series (1955-1965): Including the S1, S2, and S3, these models featured various improvements in luxury and performance.
  1. Modern Models:
  • Bentley Continental GT (2003-Present): A grand tourer that redefined the brand with its blend of luxury, technology, and performance.
  • Bentley Flying Spur (2005-Present): A luxury sedan that combines performance with four-door practicality.
  • Bentley Bentayga (2015-Present): Bentley’s first SUV, offering luxury and performance in a versatile package.
  • Bentley Mulsanne (2010-2020): The flagship model, epitomizing Bentley’s luxury and craftsmanship.

Books on Bentley:

  • Numerous books cover Bentley’s rich history, models, and legacy. These include detailed accounts of the brand’s racing heritage, technical specifications of various models, and its evolution through different ownerships and eras.

In summary, Bentley is a prestigious car manufacturer known for its luxury and performance vehicles. From its classic models of the early 20th century to its modern era under Volkswagen Group, Bentley has maintained a reputation for excellence and innovation in the automotive industry.

« Back to Dictionary Index